Home

I’ve been whispering cautions into my ear

Rejecting all the things I fear

Walking shakily but tall

My weary foresight has seen it all

This brick here and that glass there

I’ve seen it building up and stared

Sombrely, into the grass

From which grows this wishful mass

I’ve seen it climb and climb some more

I’ve seen it crumbling to the floor

And when it did, I saw it burn

My tear glands reproduced in turns

And when my hands did wipe away

The tears left a clearer day

A clearer sky into which I looked

Burdened with promises, it shook

And beneath, I was to stand

With open arms and itchy hands

One thought on “Hope Springs…

Empty box? Fill it up!

